h1

The Truth and Nothing But the Truth…

January 4, 2007

Mood: Renewed
Song: “Sound of Silence” 

Breaking the silence, I present my autobiograpy in verse form.  Those of you who are my fellow English geeks will recognize the medium as an English (Shakespearean) sonnet. 

I wrote this as an example for my students, but the content comes directly from the recesses of my own psyche.  Please feel free to offer *constructive* feedback; I am no Philip Sidney, nor would I choose to be.  I know it’s a work in progress.

 Better yet, try your own version of the autobiopoem and either post the link or include it in the comments.  The gauntlet, my friends, has been officially thrown down.

White Rose Sonnet   

Oh what is in a name like Juliet?                                                                    

Does it foreshadow what I am to be?                                                             

From books I’ve learned what I cannot forget:                                               

That goodness, truth and beauty must guide me.                                                                                                                               

 With solemn thoughts I gaze upon the stars                                                   

And often sense my own transparency.                                                                      

Inspired by them, I long to have no scars,                                                      

But I must find a deeper way to see.                                                                        

I fear to fail but dread uncertainty                                                                                         

And could not bear to cause another pain.                                                                            

An ancient motto, “loyalty binds me”,                                                                                               

Is in my life both credo and refrain.                              

I am no piercing prophet with bold voice,

But, under mercy, in my call rejoice.     

Pinkies Up

Leave a Reply

